September 16, 2014


Canada will send a mix of experienced international medallists and national team newcomers to the 12th FINA World Swimming Championships (25m).

Set for Doha, Qatar, from Dec. 3 to 7, the biennial world short-course championships gather the world’s fastest swimmers for a top-level showdown in the 25-metre pool.

Five of the 10 Canadian swimmers have won medals at major international competitions, including Olympics, world championships and Commonwealth Games.

Swimming Canada High Performance Atkinson highlighted the presence of such experienced athletes as Victoria distance specialist Ryan Cochrane, and butterflyers Audrey Lacroix and Katerine Savard, both of Pont-Rouge, Que.

“All three were gold medallists at this summer’s Commonwealth Games and their experience will be of great benefit in Doha,” Atkinson said.

The eight-woman, two-man team also includes such promising swimmers as West Vancouver’s Emily Overholt, 16, and 20-year-old Kierra Smith of Kelowna, B.C., both of whom made their senior international debuts this summer.

“This is a strong, targeted group that will perform competitively at the international level,” Atkinson added.

The team was selected based on summer results, including the Commonwealth Games, Pan Pacific Championships, Junior Pan Pacific Championships, Youth Olympic Games and Canadian Swimming Championships. Spots were offered to ranked and available athletes according to FINA World Rankings as of Sept. 7.

Canada will host the next edition of these championships in 2016 when Windsor, Ont., welcomes the world.

Complete team list:
Last Name First name Club
Caldwell Hilary Pacific Sea Wolves/HPC-Vic
Cantin Geneviève ULaval (Que.)
Cochrane Ryan Island Swimming/HPC-Victoria
Lacroix Audrey PPO (Montreal)
McCabe Martha Toronto SC/HPC-Ontario
Overholt Emily West Vancouver Otters SC/HPC-Vancouver
Savard Katerine CAMO (Montreal)
Smith Kierra Liquid Lightning SC (Kelowna, B.C.)
Van Beilen Tera UBC Dolphins/HPC-Vancouver
Wood Russell Cascade SC (Calgary)

Last Name First Name Position
Atkinson John Team Leader
Bennett Randy Head Coach
McKinnon Ken Team Coach
Olson Graham Race Analysis
Castro Ron RMT
Beckwith Brian RMT
Hanan Janice Team Manager

Swimming News courtesy of Swimming Canada.

Source : Swim Swam